Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales – Review

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales

Directed by Joachim Rønning and Espen Sandberg

Overall Experience: ✭✭✭✭ 4/5 STARS

Note: Sorry I haven’t been on so much lately! I’m going to write a bunch of reviews for the movies I’ve watched the past couple of months – didn’t have time to make videos, so I’ll stick to writing about them! 😉

This fifth installment to the Pirates of the Caribbean series is a pretty great follow-up to the former sequel!

My main objective for wanting to watch this movie had mainly been because I heard that Orlando Bloom (who played Will Turner) and Keira Knightley (who played Elizabeth Swann) was reprising their roles! I am a huge sucker for these two after watching the first three movies (had a huge crush on Will Turner back in the day), so I had to watch this movie after that.

Turns out, the fifth sequel to PotC was actually a lot of fun! I actually almost regretted not watching it in MX4D, which may have made the experience extra fun with the water and moving chairs! Alas, even without it, the movie was great fun! The humor was pretty great, and the usual shenanigans of Captain Jack Sparrow ensue once more in this movie.

The newest addition of the similar replicas of Will Turner and Elizabeth Turner, or in this case Carina Smyth (played by the lovely Kaya Scodelario, who I first saw in the TV series, Skins) and Henry Turner (Brenton Thwaites), was a lovely as well. The fact that we were also watching the son of Will Turner on the screen made me happy inside – he’s still a pirate like his father! 🙂

The villain was quite lovable too – I actually kind of rooted for him since he was a pretty good bad guy. Albeit he was nothing particularly new at this stage in PotC history (I think so far we’ve seen skeletons, hybrid sea men, the Kraken, Mermaids, etc), I think he was a suitable villain to go up against Jack since the guy was kind of undead (?) and you can’t kill him so easily.

The ending was sad too, with Caryn finding out who her father was. It was a pretty good sequel though and it made me laugh at times. I’m curious about the last scene too – I feel like they are luring all the viewers back in with a potential sequel. I’m a bit anxious about this, but I wouldn’t protest! If Davy Jones came back, it would be pretty awesome! (I just hope they have a solid script though, that’s all I ask!)

__________________________________________

If you’re a fan of movies like this, you might enjoy:

__________________________________________

Thank you for reading my review! Please check out my other reviews on this page as well!

Find me:
TWITTER | YOUTUBE

Stay tuned on my Youtube channel to see more movie/tv show reviews! Thank you for coming to my review blog!  – Anna 🙂

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

