The Fate of the Furious (Fast and Furious 8) – Review

WARNING: Major Spoilers for the Fast and Furious series!

The Fate of the Furious (Fast and Furious 8)
Directed by F. Gary Gray

Overall Experience: ✭✭✭ 3/5 STARS
2D or 3D: Stick with 2D, although this might actually be a fun movie to watch in MX4D! 

So I’ve been a pretty big fan of the Fast and Furious movies for a while, especially after watching the most recent movie that came out, Fast and Furious 7 (aka Furious 7), which is why I went into the movie hoping the next sequel to this franchise would be just as good as the last.

And it was! It lived up to my expectations – it had fast cars, action, witty humor, romance (oh and might I add – a bromance *grins*) and the same great cast from before.

I’ve always had a rather soft spot for any movie that has a decent pop, hip hop, EDM that flows well with the flow of the movie, so combining this and car racing has always been a fun combination to watch. But for me, the best part about this movie series is the family element. I love that what makes this series so different is how the characters, in spite of their many differences, become a ‘family’ – even if they might not be related in blood (except Dominic Toretto’s sister).

One thing that stuck with me when I went to go see this sequel to Fast and Furious 7 was that one of the main characters, Brian O’Conner and his wife, Mia Toretto, were not going to be in this sequel. I understood why they did this of course, and at the time when I first heard about Paul Walker’s death, I was saddened by the loss. When I went to go watch Furious 7, this movie became a whole lot more personal because of the loss of the actor. So I was curious how the follow-up for the sequel will be without the major character in the movie.

I think this movie series has evolved quite a lot with time, and this movie is similar to the previous sequel wherein it’s now a cross between a spy movie and a racing movie. And personally I love it – it makes the story more fun to watch, with new gadgets, but also it’s entertaining to see interactions between all the characters.

What’s different about this movie though is that there is a betrayal which creates a huge schism across the ‘family’ that Dominic Toretto (Vin Diesel) cherishes. This split is caused by the antagonist, Cipher (Charlize Theron), who blackmails him into working for her. We later find out the reason why (wherein he finds out he has a son he didn’t know about).

The storyline made things interesting to watch – I was trying to figure out how Toretto could side with the villain when I saw the trailers, but the reveal was definitely unexpected when I saw it! (My theory was that he was drugged where he was mind controlled, or he lost his memories too like Letty (Michelle Rodriguez).)

I was honestly amused by the reason why Cipher decided to hire Toretto to her team – I can understand why she wanted him, primarily for his strength and car racing skills, but the fact that she made him do all the hard work was funny. Toretto was like the Winter Soldier from Captain America: The Winter Soldier, lol. Seriously, why did Cipher let her other staff handle the pick up?

I also loved the banter and the awesome fight sequence between Deckard Shaw (Jason Statham) and Luke Hobbs (Dwayne Johnson) in the beginning of the movie. It was awesome and hilarious. Jason Statham was like a ninja – it really made me regret not watching more of his previous movies when I saw those scenes (I put them under my to-watch later list).

When they showed the scene where Toretto shoots Deckard, I was heartbroken. The bromance between Luke and Deckard was quite touching (I think I can really see them bonding in spite of their huge differences). My gut was in denial the whole time I watched the rest of the movie, cause I didn’t want Deckard to be dead – even in the short scenes we saw him F8, I was quite hooked by his story. So I squealed internally (and heaved with relief) when I saw Deckard alive. And not just that, but I also got a chance to see his brother, Owen Shaw, as well (also played by the handsome Luke Evans)! I think the Shaw brothers really stole the scenes for me.

Overall, the movie was a pretty good watch and a great sequel to F7. But I don’t know if it had the same spark from the last movie – it could be partly because of the plot where Dominic Toretto had to betray his family. Personally, I think if this plot was used in the next movie, Fast and Furious 9, then maybe it might have been okay with me. After Brian O’Conner and his family’s departure from Fast and Furious 7, I would have preferred to see more family bonding because of it so that they went up against a bigger enemy. However another part of me is telling me this movie is awesome and perhaps it needed the unexpected plot line to redirect the movie series to a new journey without a reminder towards the major character’s departure.

I’m still super psyched to find out how the movie is going to progress though! No doubt, we haven’t seen the end of Cipher and I hope, I really hope, that we are going to see a lot more of the Shaw family (their mother is hilarious!) This movie series makes me want to own a fast car, so I hope we get to see more sexy car scenes as well in the sequel!

_______________________________________

If you’re a fan of the Fast and Furious movies, you might enjoy:

_______________________________________

Thank you for reading my review! Please check out my other reviews on this page as well!

Find me:
TWITTER | YOUTUBE

Stay tuned on my Youtube channel to see more movie/tv show reviews! Thank you for coming to my review blog!  – Anna 🙂

Leave a Reply

