Sense8 (Season 2) – Review

WARNING: Major spoilers for Sense8 – Season 2!

Sense8 (Netflix)
Created by J. Michael Straczynski, Lana Wachowski, Lilly Wachowski

Overall Experience: ✭✭✭✭ 5/5 STARS

This blog is still new so I haven’t reviewed Sense8 – Season 1 yet, but I was compelled to do so when I saw Season 2 in the span of two days (yesterday and today, hah!) 😀 And I am ridiculously happy to share my thoughts about the new season!

It was back in 2015 when I first saw this show which was released by Netflix – I thought the concept was exciting, new and the heartfelt elements were touching as well! So when I finished watching Season 1, I was completely hooked and craved for more.

I kind of watched Season 2 as if I wasn’t watching a tv show. For me, it felt like an immersive movie, probably because I was binge watching, haha! 😛 It was totally worth it and I just couldn’t stop!

So let me start by saying that first and foremost, what I love about this show is how different it is. And when I mean different, I mean how it wants to break down the boundaries of what some consider to be taboo. Lately we’ve had some pretty great shows highlighting these topics, but I think what Sense8 does a great job especially is to show how equal we are in these differences. It shows how sexuality, religion, nationality, the color of one’s skin or anything that makes humans so different is a part of who we are.

I can also see how the creators put in some scenes that share glimpses of a reality that is today – mass shootings, fraud, injustice and corruption and I think that they are trying to give viewers not just entertainment, but a heartfelt message. And this whole package is what draws me into this show. It’s incredibly well-written, with an amazing cast, direction, cinematography and score!

My second love for this show is the characters, or Sensates, that appear in the show – each one has their own story to tell and all these episodes are connected so intricately together to share it with the viewers. They do a great job of it too – I really feel sympathy for them and then happiness when they are going through an incredible and joyous time! The romance too is awesome to watch, like with Wolfgang/Kala, Lito/Hernandez, Nomi/Amanita and Will/Riley! I hope Wolfgang/Kala’s relationship blossoms even further (I am quite the sucker when it comes down to love triangles).

I don’t think I have any favourite characters though, cause I love all of them equally when I watch them interact. And Season 2 brings it up a notch with the storyline. The editing too is really something to watch – it’s fun to watch because each of these characters criss cross inside of their minds and you can see it happened through editing and some CG effects.

Also, in Season two, we get to find out more about the enemy, Dr. Milton, who is a part of a secret organisation called BPO (Biologic Preservation Organization) hunting groups of Sensates (or also called a cluster). And we learn about the history behind how BPO is created. It’s fascinating to watch as the twists and turns unravel. The story behind Angelica’s (a Sensate and the one who ‘birthed’ the current cluster of Sensates we see are focused on this show) relationship with this organization and her first cluster is interesting, but also heartbreaking as well. My heart broke in particular when Lito recognized one of them and remembers his encounter with the journalist.

Overall this show is a must-see and really gives me hope in the future for breaking free from stereotypical movies. Whilst the overall story is still a cat and mouse type of plot line, the characters involved make this show an immersive and addictive, spiritual journey worth binge watching! I can’t wait for Season Three and what new ideas and stories it will bring us viewers!

___________________________________________

If you liked Sense8 and you want to see more like it, you might enjoy:

  • Cloud Atlas (Directed by The Wachowskis) – The movie focuses on how each character, whether they live in the past, present or the future, are all connected.
  • Matrix (Directed by The Wachowskis) – The hacking and the scenes where the main character is able to get all manner of martial arts skills with just one button is similar.
  • Limitless (Directed by Neil Burger) – The main character is able to gain 100% access to the human brain with a drug. This gives him the power to calculate, fight and do things no ordinary person can.
  • Mr. Nobody (Directed by Jaco Van Dormael) – Centers around a young boy who is given a choice of endless possibilities, and each present is an alternate road. 
  • LOST (ABC, Created by J.J. Abrams, Jeffrey Lieber and Damon Lindelof) – Concentrates on episodes around each character after a plane crashes on a mysterious island. Each one carries their own set of backstories which weave together with the show’s current events.
  • Orphan Black (BBC America, Created by John Fawcett and Graeme Manson) – Clones! All types of clones with different lives coincide. Plus there’s a fascinating evil organization.
  • The OA (Netflix, Created by Brit Marling and Zal Batmanglij) – I can’t spoil this show too much, but it’s similar in the companionship portrayed. Each character is trapped but all of them are connected.

___________________________________________

Find me also on:
TWITTER | YOUTUBE

Stay tuned on my Youtube channel to see more movie/tv show reviews! Thank you for coming to my review blog! – Anna 🙂

Leave a Reply

